Interview with Lori Toland + Giveaway

Reading Romances: Who are your favorite authors and strikes you about their work?

Lori Toland: I love LJ Smith and Mary Calmes. LJ Smith (who wrote The Vampire Diaries and The Secret Circle) makes these gorgeous paranormal worlds I want to live in. Same with Mary Calmes but in a sexier, gay romance way. I also love Kele Moon’s books. Her dialogue is awesome.What makes writing your passion?

 
I love reading. So writing is kind of like reading but I’m creating all the magic, or so I think. I know my characters are the ones really in control of the story. I’m just here to write them down.What does your family think of having a published romance author in their midst?

My dad and step-mom really proud of me. My sister is turning 18 this February and I’ve promised to load all my books on the family e-reader.  I don’t have any family except for my dad’s and my husband’s family but I think my mom would be really proud of me. My husband keeps my ego in check. While he always encourages me, he feels romance should have more truth in it. He keeps telling me I should write a book where the hero says to the love interest at the end “It’s been nice but I’m just not that into you.”

This is your first M/F published romance, why did you decide to release it after writing five M/M romances?

The characters come to me and tell me about their lives. For Ashlee, she is a girl. She may not be a girlie girl, but she is a female nonetheless and I respect her gender. I didn’t change her to suit my whims. Above all else, I write about love. I’m gender blind so whether the romance is between a man and a woman or two men or two women, I just write their stories.

What was the hardest and easiest parts to bring SOUL SEDUCTION to life?

The hardest was getting the logistics of Liverpool just right. My husband was born there and we go as often as we can. I had to work off of memory on a lot of things but it was still a lot of fun. The easiest would be creating the world of the demon slayers. That was a lot of fun because I created the way the sword looked. And all the slayers have very different swords. No two are alike.

What are five fun facts about you or this book, that readers would love to know?

#1 About Me: I love cats. I’m crazy about them! I put a cat in every one of my books or in the series.
#2 About The Book:  It’s set in Liverpool, England. I love visiting there.
#3 About Me: I’m a huge gaming fan, and whether it is on console or PC, I love to play. Which leads me to a fun fact about Soul Seduction.
#4 About The Book: A lot of the fight scenes were inspired by gaming. I love to play JRPG games (like Final Fantasy and Persona) and some first person shooters (Tomb Raider). Anything I don’t spaz out on.
#5 About Me: I’m a bit of a gypsy. For most of my life, my belongings were storage and I moved to wherever my work took me. That was Vegas, Southern California, Texas and many more.

Is there another sub-genre aside from your primary sub-genre that you would like to write for and why?

Steampunk or Sci-Fi Regency. I love those two! I love the clothing of the Regency period but I love spaceships too. So when the two collide, it’s my happy place!

Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?

There is a sequel in the works to Soul Seduction. Hopefully by tour time, I’ll have most of it done so I can work on it with my editor.  I also have an upcoming book from Loose Id that I will start editing mid tour (because that’s always how it works) and it’s m/m. I’m really excited about that one. The chemistry nearly burns my keyboard on that book.

What makes a romance novel a great love story and how would you define “romance”?

I think there has to be some level of realism in the story and I’m not talking about the wet spot. I think the characters have to be relatable, especially in the 1st person. But truly what makes a romance novel a great story is the chemistry between the main characters. Great chemistry is exhausting to write but rewarding to read.

Thank you for taking the time to answer these questions!
It has been my pleasure! Thanks for inviting me to stop by!

 

CEO by day, erotic romance writer by night, Lori Toland lives in Orlando where the summers are hot but the romance between her characters is even hotter. Writing since the tender age of 13, Lori somehow finds time to play video games and watch movies while taking care of her beloved cats and a husband who will forever be her hero.

***

Soul Seduction
by Lori Toland

November 29th 2011 by Loose Id

Ashlee Bennett has her priorities straight. Fighting demons is at the top of the list until she meets her sexy neighbor, Luke Byrne. Even though he is human, she can’t stop dreaming about his buff body and sexy grin…until her dreams turn to nightmares.

Her world is turned upside down when Luke follows her one night, but instead of being afraid, he is only more determined to stand beside her and fight. Ashlee knows she needs to keep her distance from Luke, not just to protect her virginity but her heart as well. But Luke may be the only one who can save her from the night, and her dreams.

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual situations, graphic language, and material that some readers may find objectionable: violence.

***

Lori will be giving away the winner’s choice of a $25 GC to either Amazon, AllRomanceEbooks or Loose Id for both blog host with most comments and one randomly drawn commenter during the tour.  Simply leave a comment (no need to write down your email) and you’ll be entered to win!

Goddess Fish Partner

Follow The Tour

Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about giveaways and other events!

70 thoughts on “Interview with Lori Toland + Giveaway

  1. A great interview. I like the idea of ‘romance having more truth in it’. When I was a child my Father’s work made us gypsies too. I kind of liked it.

    Like

  2. “The chemistry nearly burns my keyboard on that book.”– Chemistry of the best kind! 8)
    Really great interview!!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

    Like

  3. This is stop number 2 for me on your tour! I really would love to win the GC so I can buy your book, of course!
    MJB
    msmjb65 AT gmail DOT com

    Like

  4. Thank yo so much for this giveaway! This is a new to me author, so I’ve added her to my TBR list! I love these hops exactly for this reason =D

    Like

  5. Great interview and your books sounds like a good read! Thats funny your husband wants you to put “I’m just not into you” in one of your books. Boo to him. We like when our men want the women as much as they do them. Anyway hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas!

    Like

  6. thank you for the great interview. I love to read them so that I can see what you think. I am looking forward to reading your book.
    I have always been looking for new authors to add to my list.

    Like

  7. Nice interview…it would be funny to write “It’s been nice but i’m not that into you ” at the end of a book , but only as a joke .

    Like

  8. Hi! I really loved the interview and I have read some excerpts of your book Lori and I just love it! I’m so checking it out. Happy Holidays!
    rshereifa(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

