Destiny Redeemed by Gabrielle Bisset + Amon Interview + Giveaway

Destiny Redeemed

by Gabrielle Bisset

Author’s Site | Blog | Twitter| Facebook

Sentenced to spend the rest of his three remaining lifetimes in Nil, Amon Kalins is freed with the help of his Sidhe servant, Gethen, but now he must accept his life is never to be his again as the Council won’t rest until he’s safely back imprisoned within Nil’s cold walls. Broken and nearly dead from his time in prison, Amon is saved by an Aeveren healer named Althea Forester. As a healer, Thea has served her people for forty-five lifetimes, never having a destined one and always knowing each lifetime would ultimately end with her alone. But destiny hasn’t forgotten her. 

Drawn to the seductive Amon, Thea quickly becomes a pawn the Council uses to trap him. Taken prisoner by the sadistic leader of the rebel group, the Soren, Thea must survive the vicious world of the people hellbent on taking her destined one away forever, and Amon must risk everything dear to him to free her from those who would sacrifice her to claim the bigger prize and return him to Nil. 



Amazon

About the Aeveren:
Aeveren are a race of people descended from humans, but long ago they were chosen by the Archangel Raziel to be his people.  He gave them the gifts of reincarnation, powers beyond what humans have, and destined ones.  Aeveren live fifty lifetimes through reincarnation and carry with them their memories from their past lives.  Upon reaching their twentieth lifetimes, they receive a power, such as telepathy, teleportation, or the power of time travel.  However, some Aeveren are born with their abilities, making them far more powerful than the rest of the race.  Finally, each Aeveren soul is given destined ones, other Aeveren meant only for them.  However, Aeveren possess free will, so like humans, they don’t always choose as they should.

***

Interview with Amon Kalins

Gabrielle:  Thanks Nat for having Amon and me here today at Reading Romances for the Destiny Redeemed tour.  It’s been a great month of dates, and we’re happy to be here with you.

Amon:  It’s been interesting, Gabrielle.  I liked the interview you did with Thea last week on her birthday.  So what are we talking about today?

Gabrielle:  Well, since you’re always so secretive about your past, I thought we’d talk about what you’ve been up to with Markku, that interesting magickian from Destiny Redeemed.

Amon (groans):  Markku.  He’s always a handful.

Gabrielle:  How about we give the readers a little taste of Markku before we begin talking?  Here’s a scene with Amon and Markku, along with Gethen, when they’re breaking into the building Thea’s being held in.

“Markku, where are we?”
Pointing to a stairwell at the end of the hallway, he said, “Those stairs go to the main level.”
“I’m not feeling good about being trapped in a stairwell. Any other way we can get upstairs?”
Markku pointed to a freight elevator. “Feel better about that?”
Amon shook his head. “No.”
“Then stairs it is.”
Gethen grabbed Amon’s sleeve to stop him. “I could rematerialize upstairs and make sure it’s safe.”
“Are you feeling better? The last time you did that you looked like hell afterward.”
“And felt like it, but that was traveling between worlds from Nil. I’m not much of a Sidhe if I can’t disappear and rematerialize one floor up.”
Turning to Markku, who was about to enter the stairwell, Amon said, “Hold up. Gethen is going to check things out while we wait here.”
“Gonna try a little Sidhe hocus pocus, huh, old man? Sounds good to me.”
Gethen disappeared before their eyes and the two men waited and watched for more of Kiril’s guards. When the Sidhe reappeared, he looked pale and troubled.
“He’s got guards all along the main hallways to the central room where he holds meetings. But none seem to have any weapons either. We’re going to have to get through a few sets of them before we can get to Kiril.”
As Gethen finished, his breathing was labored and he leaned up against the wall to support himself.
Amon reached out to touch his shoulder. “No more of that. We’ll find another way to do this. Understand?”
Nodding, Gethen took a deep breath. “Amon, he’s got her in the main room. He’s waiting for you and using her as bait.”
In a low voice, Amon growled, “That’s just another fucking reason I’m going to kill him.”
“Okay, guys. We need to get upstairs if we expect to get your lady out of here. No time like the present.”
“Let’s go. Markku, you take the rear. Gethen, stay near me. And this time we might not be able to get past them by just knocking them out. Sorry, Markku. I hope none of these guys are your friends.”
“No need to be sorry. They cut me out like cancer at a moment’s notice. Kill ‘em all.”
As they climbed the stairs to the floor above, Amon and Gethen turned to see Markku stopped on the landing and mumbling something. As he joined them and they hit the top of the stairs, they heard a series of successive thuds. Once the noise had stopped, Amon opened the heavy metal door and looked up and down the hallway. In both directions, the floor was littered with the bodies of unconscious guards.
Looking back, Amon smiled at Markku.
“I’m a lover, not a killer. That back there was just bravado. I’m surprised as shit that it worked, though. But it’s only for a short time, big guy, so you can thank me later when we’re all back at the house and I’m enjoying some whiskey.”
All three stepped out into the hallway and walked to the main room. They were walking into an ambush, but they had little choice.
Amon braced himself as he grabbed the handle to the door. Just days earlier, he’d come here with Thea and the men who stood behind him now to seek help from the Soren. Now he hoped what lay behind the door didn’t break his heart.
The three stepped in not knowing what to expect, but what they saw was even more shocking than anything they could’ve imagined. On the dais sat Thea in Kiril’s chair and behind her stood the head of the Council at Nil. To their right, lay Kiril, unconscious on the ground.

Gabrielle:  Markku is quite a character, but you seem to have become friends, wouldn’t you say?

Amon:  I guess you could say that.  Thea has been a big part of that.

Gabrielle:  He was pretty important in rescuing Thea.

Amon:  He was.  Markku’s a good guy, most of the time.

Gabrielle:  He’s got some serious talent, almost enough to rival yours.

Amon: True. His powers are almost as strong as mine, and as a magickian, he’s certainly able to do some things I can’t. He’s got that spell thing down pat.

Gabrielle:  Thea told me you’ve been helping him recently. What’s he been up to? Or is he in trouble now?

Amon: You mean again?  No.  After everything that went down with the Council, Markku decided to stay on the straight and narrow.  He’s living in my house in Germany and has set up shop as a local magickian there.

Gabrielle:  Really?  Has he been staying out of trouble?

Amon:  For the most part. I think that’s what he wants me there for—to keep him out of trouble. The guy’s got a penchant for finding it.  Or it finds him.  But I can understand that. I have the same problem.  Maybe it’s because of the power we possess.  Trouble seems to find us. So I go to Germany a few days a week to help him get on his feet.

Gabrielle:  So what’s his shop like?

Amon:  He does magick for local Aeveren, but recently, he’s gotten some business from around us in Greece. I think Thea’s been talking his store up a bit, so he’s getting a reputation for knowing his way around a spell.  Plus, the legend of taking down Kiril and the head of the Council of Nil has spread pretty far and wide.

Gabrielle:  Has that affected you any?

Amon:  (shaking his head) No.  I try to keep my life as secluded as possible, so it’s just Thea and me and none of that Council nonsense. But Markku loves to be the center of the show, so he routinely tells people the story of what happened after that scene you gave earlier.

Gabrielle:  I’ve had a few readers ask for me to write Markku’s story. What do you think of that?

Amon:  You know, other than this lifetime, I have no idea what Markku’s past is.  I don’t even know what lifetime he’s in.  It’s not really something we’ve ever talked about.  I just know he’s got the stuff where magick’s concerned.

Gabrielle:  What if I told you that Markku is a young Aeveren—just in his twentieth lifetime and this is his first lifetime with those powers?

Amon:  Interesting. I have to admit I can’t see Markku in a romance, though. He tried some moves on Thea’s sister at the wedding and he got his face smacked. Not a smooth character, by any means.

Gabrielle:  You never know.  Love changes a person, doesn’t it.

Amon: (smiling) It certainly does.

Gabrielle:  Thanks for stopping by and chatting today, Amon. It was great to see you again.

Amon:  My pleasure, Gabrielle.  Thea and I look forward to seeing you at our house for Christmas. And don’t worry about the teleporting. Thea says she has a remedy from one of her human friends that will take care of any queasiness you get.

Gabrielle:  Thank God. I don’t know how you Aeveren deal with the teleporting. It makes me sick as a dog.

Amon:  It must be something in our make up, but we don’t get sick from it. Must be a human issue.

Gabrielle:  I guess.  Well, I’ll see you then, and to Nat, we say thank you again for letting us stop by and chat about the new book, Destiny Redeemed.

***

I’ll start by saying that I love everything about the Averen! They’re a very interesting race that you can’t get enough of. If you’ve read the first book of this series you’ll be surprised to see a very different Amon. He spent some time in Nil, the Averen’s jail, and comes out of there weak and in need of a healer to help him get his powers back. I didn’t like this version of Amon more than the old one, but I appreciate his change because that would be the only way he could have had a chance with Thea. Now let’s talk about her, she was my favorite character in this book and I loved how weak she appears for those who don’t know her and the contrast between the main couple. I couldn’t bare to see her heart broken! I really enjoyed the second cast of characters aswell.

This wasn’t my favorite book by Gabrielle Bisset, I didn’t enjoy very much the path the author chose to develop the plot. The pacing wasn’t fluid at times and some pieces of the dialogue could be better too. The characters are terrific and the world-building is greatly done, I recommend this book if you want to follow up and read Amon’s story, it’s totally worth the waiting.

SEXUAL CONTENT: 4/5

RATING: 4/5

A digital copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for a honest review.

***

7 ebook copies of Destiny Redeemed are being given away tour wide! Giveaway is open till Dec. 3oth and it’s INTERNATIONAL!
10 thoughts on “Destiny Redeemed by Gabrielle Bisset + Amon Interview + Giveaway

  1. Good interview. I don’t know if I can wait too much longer to read this. Might have to pop on over to Amazon soon, yeah? Heard good things about it! 🙂 Thanks for the chance, appreciate it.

    Like

  2. The book looks very interesting and great interview! I have to add this book to my to-read list 😉 And of course thanks for the opportunity to get the book!

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

