Interview with Katy Madison + Giveaway

My Q&A with Katy Madison:

Who are your romance “goddesses”? Do you have a top 5 of your favorite books?

Romance “goddesses” hmm. I’d have to count Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, and Georgette Heyer in my “goddess” category. And my top five favorite books, well, I read a lot of books, but reread very few. However there are a few I’ve read multiple times: Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, and then just to confuse people The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov and the Unofficial Guide to Disney World. Can’t go wrong reading about the happiest place on earth, but I also like to go there with a plan. While herding my kids around the parks, I earned the title, Sergeant Mom.

What makes writing historical romances so compellingly seductive to you? What do you look for when deciding to read a book?

I’m fond of history so historical romances are a good fit for me. As for what catches my interest when deciding what to read, lots of stuff. A pretty cover. An interesting premise. An author I’ve read and liked before. Honestly, I’ll read about anything. I just want characters I believe in and can understand why they make the choices they do. My reading mood will vary, as far as the angst to humor ratio I like.

Some authors say that their stories take them in surprising directions, or dialogue flows from some unknown place. Is it the same with you? Do your characters surprise you sometimes?

All the time. I’m fly into the mist writer. I can’t see where I’m going. I usually start with the premise and just one or two scenes in my head. I work to or from those scenes. I just try to understand the characters and what they want and why. Then usually they will surprise me by doing something I didn’t expect or refusing to do something I wanted them to do.

How do you like your heroes and heroines?

I just want heroes and heroines I can believe are real. I like men to be men, forceful and confident without being jerks, and women to be women, if perhaps a little more independent than women of their time might have been. I want my heroes and heroines to be people I admire and wish I could be.

What do you feel was the easiest part of writing ALL ABOUT SEDUCTION? What was the most difficult?

Writing is always such a jumbled up blur. It’s both easy and hard at the same time. I love a story that is in my head waiting to be written, I hate it when I get it on the page and it rarely lives up to how I envisioned it. I really love discovering the characters and learning who they are as I write. I usually hate revision, even though I know it makes the book better, and sending a book out without revision would be like going out in my underwear.

What are five fun facts about you or this book, that readers would love to know?

1) The original title was AN IMPURE BARGAIN
2) Plaster of Paris casts were used during the Crimean War 1853-1856. The same war that brought Florence Nightingale to prominence in nursing.
3) Originally Jack lost the lower part of his leg, but my editor made me fix him. So I found that a surgical repair of a shattered ankle with silver wire was performed in the mid 1850s. (Although it was more likely he would have had an amputation.)
4) The book Jack has in Chapter 24 is a real book.
5) The song that kept playing in my head while I was thinking about Jack and Caroline’s story was “Life in a Northern Town” by The Dream Academy.

What’s your favorite scene or moment from ALL ABOUT SEDUCTION, and why? Can you describe it for us without giving too much away?

I think my favorite scene is the epilogue, because I get to show the characters happy and in love. But I also liked the first time Jack and Caroline have sex because the scene is so awkward and cringe worthy. But it does get better.

What do you think that’s your best line of dialogue for this book?

I think my favorite line of dialogue belongs to one of the secondary characters. “The next time I accept an invitation to a hunt, I shall make quite sure I am not the prey.” Jack has some great thoughts, but he didn’t say them out loud, and there were a few fun exchanges, but out of context they probably won’t make sense.

Why do you think that readers will fall in love with your hero, Jack Applegate?

Jack is a great guy. He’s ambitious, hard working, yet extremely caring and patient, while perhaps a little too proud. He’s the perfect man to help Caroline heal.

Can you tell us about some of your upcoming releases, or new projects that we can look forward to?

Up next is BRIDE BY MAIL a western-set (Colorado 1860s) mail-order bride story coming from Harlequin Historicals under the name Kate Madison.

And my last question that I always ask my interviewees: What makes a romance novel a great love story and would you define “romance”?

I think the characters are what make a romance novel a great love story and when you start rooting for them to have a happy ending that elevates it to a great love story. I would define “romance” not as the story of two people falling in love, but two people kicking and fighting against falling in love, because they believe it is the worst thing that could happen to them, but in the end they fall in love anyway.

***

All About Seduction

by Katy Madison

December 1st 2011 by Avon

Caroline Broadhurst is about to take a lover— At her husband’s command. For fifteen years, Caroline has done everything her much older husband has desired—except provide an heir. Now he has given her an ultimatum: seduce a suitable gentleman and bear a son. Caroline would never think of bowing to such a shameful order, but then she meets Jack Applegate.

Jack has longed for the beautiful, untouchable Caroline for years, but the chasm between a lady and a laborer was too wide to ever dream of crossing. Now, fate and passion have thrown them together, but the potential scandal threatens to smother their love. And when a violent secret comes to light, only a terrible sacrifice will prevent the flame of their affection from being snuffed out forever …


buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

***

Katy Madison and Harper Collins will be giving away a $25 Amazon.com gift certificate to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour. Go check the other stops and the more you comment, the better your chances of winning!

Goddess Fish PartnerPrevious/ Next TOUR STOPS:
October 31: Reading Romances
November 1: Reader Girls
November 2: Seductive Musings
November 3: Romancing Rakes
November 4: I Just Wanna Sit Here and Read!

Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about giveaways and other events!

38 thoughts on “Interview with Katy Madison + Giveaway

  1. Hi Katy,

    You are a new-to-me author but that will change. I love the sound of your book. And BTW, so glad the title was changed. One thing I want to know: did you have to do a lot of changes when your editor told you to nix the amputated leg? Seems like that is a major dynamic of the book. I’m wondering what direction the hero would take if that fact had stayed in the book.

    Like

    1. It did require some major rewrites, but I kept as much as I could. I think the main thing that changed was Jack’s attitude. He started very angry at Caroline, but once he was no longer an amputee that didn’t make any sense.

      Like

  2. This sounds like a great book. This is a new author for and always looking for new books to read. Please enter me in the giveaway and hope to win.

    Like

  3. I tried to get a copy of this book from NetGalley but couldn’t, but don’t worry! I’ll find a way to read it because it sounds like a terrific book 🙂 I loved the 5 facts about the author or the book as well!

    Like

  4. You’re a new-to-me-author but I was just checking out your website and your books went right onto my wishlist. 🙂 I love the cover of All About Seduction! Two of my favourite things on covers combined: dresses and nekkid man-chest. 😉

    Like

  5. Hey Chicks!

    I read the book (ARC of it for RRAH website) and I cannot tell you how much I loved both H/h! As soon as I was done w/the story, I ordered Katy’s previous book, and it’s now on my TBR 🙂

    BTW: To all the fans of Richard Armitage and NORTH and SOUTH mini-series, you will LOVE this book 🙂

    @Karen H in NC – I’m not sure what Katy’s answer will be, but let me tell you from my POV, it would have made no difference if the leg got amputated. The way Katy handled the whole incident was so real, and poignant that my heart broke for Jack in any case.

    As for my fave scene: That first ‘encounter’ was waaaay too real and I said – FINALLY! Finally someone with enough guts to ‘show’ us how awkward it CAN be! I have been touting this book ever since I got done with it, and couldn’t wait for my review to go up!

    http://romancereaderatheart.com/pubsandpromos/2011/nov11/AAS_KM.htm

    READ ‘m and weep! And I mean WEEP!

    Thanks so much for this story Katy!

    Mel
    http://www.bookworm2bookworm.wordpress.com
    Stop by so we can ‘hook you up’ with a book 🙂

    Like

  6. Loved the interview and the introduction to the book, it will definitely go on my tbr list! I’m sure it was an “Oh Snap!” moment when you were told to revise the book to keep Jack from losing his limb and its truly impressive that you were able to find the information needed to substantiate the prevention of amputation. The more research and factual history that goes into historical romances the more believable and interesting they become and while I am not a HUGE history buff (I loathed taking any history class in high school many eons ago because it bored me to tears lol), I have discovered that certain eras tend to draw me in and hold me captivated! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  7. Hey Katy, fun interview. After thoroughly enjoying Tainted By Temptation, I am looking forward to All About Seduction. The premise sounds sinfully spicy! Good luck with sales.

    Like

  8. I always like to see what authors a new author enjoys – gives me an idea if I may like this author. And the consensus is – Katy looks like a good bet!

    Like

  9. Following this fun blog. This is a new author for me and always looking for new authors. This book looks awesome and love, love, love the cover of this book. I would love to win and read these so please choose me for the giveaway. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Like

  10. Contrats Katy, All About Seduction sounds fantastic. I’m also intrigued by your upcoming mail-order bride story. I haven’t read one in a while & always marvel at how 2 total strangers could put that much trust in each other. Talk about a blind date.

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at gmail.com

    Like

  11. That’s a seriously hot cover and very shocking blurb! Her husband asks her to cheat in order to pruduce an heir? Wow. Got my attention. 🙂

    thanks for the chance!

    kah_cherub at hotmail dot com

    Like

  12. Great interview Nat. I am going to have to add this to my TBR list. I totally agree that the hero and heroine needs to be believable. I love strong willed, speak their mind heroines and heros that are brawny but not controlling.

    Like

  13. Katy Madison is a new author to me and I am looking forward to her book. Historical romances is one of my favorite genres to read and finding new authors is a treat.

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

