Then Came You by Vanessa Devereaux + Interview + Giveaway

My Q&A with Vanessa Devereaux:

When did you first start reading romance?

Probably when I was a teenager. They were the Mills and Boon Romances that my grandmother used to leave behind after visiting us.

Who are your favorite romance authors and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I enjoy reading Susan Wiggs because her characters are so lifelike…love the settings of all her books too. I also enjoy Lori Foster (picture on the left) because they’re sexy and humorous. For a little suspense along with some romance, definitely Brenda Novak.

How do you like your heroes and heroines?

Strong, funny, sexy and people who are just waiting for that right someone to waltz into their lives.

How is the proccess of naming your characters and creating book titles?

Sometimes it’s a lot harder than others. Some just pop into my head and I think, great, no brainstorming required for this one. Others give me trouble. I do keep a book of character names and titles I’d like to use in future projects and sometimes I’ll scan through them to see if anything’s a fit. For book titles, many times song titles get stuck in my head. Other times something in the plot will jump out at me while I’m writing and I’ll say; that’s it, that’s what this story should be called.

For Then Came You it was a song that was stuck in my head. For my upcoming novel, Forbidden, it didn’t appear until I’d written a couple of chapters and I thought wow, a forbidden romance sums this up on so many levels. With One Night With You, it was the idea that’s all it took for these two characters to fall for one another.

How do you think that your books are received by the audience?

I think they really enjoy them. Four of them are bestsellers at All Romance E Books and I’m so proud to say that one of my shorter erotica titles Who’s the Boss? has been an overall top twenty bestseller at Fictionwise so I hope that’s an indication that they like them. I love it when I read that someone cried or missed their stop on the train because they were reading one of my stories…not that I really want to bring people to tears or make them late for work but it’s flattering nevertheless.

What is your “motto”?

I hope the person reading this story enjoys it as much as I did writing it.

What are some of the national organizations to which you belong?

RNA, EPIC and The Writer’s Guild UK.

Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?

I always have lots of books in the works! I’m currently working on a mystery, a new erotic romance and two erotica stories. Future projects include a screenplay, an erotic romantic suspense and more erotica, maybe another trilogy like Brazen Ladies. And yes, more stories featuring sexy cowboys.

How would you define “romance”?

Two people who care for one another through good times and bad and also are not only lovers but best friends and become better people through loving that other person. I know this sounds a cliché but for me romance is all about finding someone who completes you as a person.

***

My Thoughts:

 I really enjoyed Then Came You, but there wasn’t anything unique about it that made it stand out for me. The characters were likeable but I didn’t feel related enough to care about them. However, it was lovely to see how they started their relationship and the whole country setting. The ending didn’t satisfy me, it wasn’t realistic at all and bit forced in my opinion. The sex scenes were good but expected them to vary a bit and to have explored more emotions and different situations.

It didn’t leave much of an impression on me, but if you have some time for a light and steamy read before bed, I’d go for it! I’ll read other books by Vanessa Devereaux and discover what else she has to offer, I believe I may find my spicy cup of tea on one of them.

Heat Level: 4/5

Rating: 3/5


This book was received in digital format through Goddess Fish Blog Tours, in exchange for an honest review.

***

Then Came You

by Vanessa Devereaux

Website | Twitter

Published October 10th 2011 by Total-E-Bound

Good Things Are Worth Waiting For…

Connor O’Riordan had his heart set on Gillian Matthews the first day she stepped onto his ranch but the only problem was she had a boyfriend. He’d made her promise that if the two of them ever broke up she’d tell him.

Gillian is a woman of her word and when Connor finds out she’s now available he’ll do anything to woo and romance the lady of his dreams. The best way to start…invite her to spend Thanksgiving at his ranch.


***

Vanessa will be giving away the winner’s choice of one of her backlisted eBooks to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour. Go check the other stops and the more you comment, the better your chances of winning!

Goddess Fish PartnerPrevious/ Next TOUR STOPS:
October 17: Blisse Blog
October 18: Ramblings From This Chick
October 19: Carrie Ann Ryan’s Blog
October 20: Reading Romances
October 21: Romance With an Attitude
October 24: Reviews By Molly
October 25: Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews
October 26: Naughty in the Backseat
October 27: Realmantic Moments
October 28: Romancing Rakes

Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about giveaways and other events!

7 thoughts on “Then Came You by Vanessa Devereaux + Interview + Giveaway

  1. I like the idea of a man willing to wait for the woman he loves to become available. Then Came You sounds like an interesting read. Thanks for the giveaway!

    junegirl63(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  2. That’s an interesting look at real love, best friends who help each other develop into better people. Great interview. Now I really can’t wait to read the story. 🙂

    Natasha

    Like

  3. Well I certainly enjoyed the interview today and will be looking up Vanessa Devereaux’s work as she is a new to me author and I love being introduced to new sources for my reading addiction:) I think that Then Came You sounds like a sweet story that I would definitely enjoy and I look forward to checking out what else she has written. Thank you for sharing today and for this lovel giveaway opportunity.

    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

