In Total Surrender by Anne Mallory + Interview + Giveaway

In Total Surrender

(Secrets, #3)

by Anne Mallory

September 27th 2011 by Avon

My Q&A with Anne Mallory!

Reading Romances: Who are your favorite romance authors, and are there any new authors who have grasped your interest?
Anne Mallory : I have so many favorites, but Marjorie M. Liu, Sarah MacLean and Meredith Duran are current loves.

Q: If someone were writing a story about Anne Mallory what would your blurb say?
A: This is the strange tale of an optimistic girl with crazy hair and very questionable taste in shoes…


Q: How is the process of naming your characters and books?
A: I have to have a title and character names that resonate in order to write, but sometimes that resonance changes, and then so do the names of the characters.  It all depends on how much I have “set” in my mind when I start writing.  Some books bloom fully before I start typing, some are slow-to-open buds.

Q: How do you like your heroes and heroines?
A: I like characters who are strong, smart and adaptable.  I tend to like my heroes a little rough around the edges.  My heroines tend to be pretty pragmatic.

Q: What are five fun facts about you or IN TOTAL SURRENDER, that readers might like to know?

A: 1. The book is told primarily from the POV of the hero.

2. The hero is a main player in the London underworld.  Not normally the type of man you’d take home to mother…

3. When the heroine keeps popping up with a sunny smile, he thinks she must be either mad, brilliant, or some strange combination of the two, and I found writing that confusion so much fun.

4. While In Total Surrender can stand alone, I set up a number of plot elements in One Night Is Never Enough (which features the hero’s brother).

5. My working title for the book was One Kiss Leads to Another.

Q: What’s your best line of dialogue?
A: Hmmm…not sure about best…but this line is part of a scene in the book that was a lot of fun to write:  “But, see the thing is, sir, we don’t know what to do with a hundred chickens.”

Q: Can you tell us about some of your upcoming releases, or new projects that we can look forward to?
A: I’m hoping to have a book out soon featuring a secondary character from a past book – the secondary character who, by far, I receive the most mail about.  🙂

Q: What would you consider to be the perfect blend of ingredients to make a romance a great love story?
A: A wonderful emotional connection, great characters, and a satisfying ending!

Thank you so much for having me here today!  I would love to hear from readers about what YOUR blurb would say, if someone were writing a story about you.  🙂

***

My Thoughts:

Interesting plotting and development. A unique and delightful new approach to a historical romance novel!

I have to admit that I had some trouble with the first chapters, where we only get the hero’s POV. After we start to see thing through the heroine’s perspective you won’t be able to stop reading! Phoebe is very daring and has an incredible strong way to voice her opinion, it made the story feel fresh and you never knew what she would come up with next! It isn’t very believable according to the context but so fun you’ll totally forget about it! I believe she didn’t have a major development through the story, that was heavily the heroe’s job. And oh boy, he had so much to deal with!

Mallory could have explored a few situations further, extending the trip scenes and perhaps creating new problems for the characters during that. I was also expecting the sex scenes to be a little more detailed since the tension between the couple got better and better! I did feel like the end was rushed, but I was VERY surprised with the secrets in this story and how they were delivered to the reader.

Heat Level: 3/5

This book was received in digital format through Goddess Fish Blog Tours, in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5


The first kiss was dangerous enough…

Andreas Merrick is the king of London’s dark underworld, having amassed unimaginable wealth
and power…and a fierce reputation that leaves even the bravest men quaking in their boots. Yet
one person is maddeningly unintimidated by his fearsome presence: the persistent Miss Phoebe
Pace.

And one kiss always leads to another…

Equal parts honey and steel, Phoebe will stop at nothing to find her missing brother and save
her family. Though associating with Andreas means peril and scandal, she never expects to
experience a passion so intense that it threatens to consume her. But enigmatic Andreas is no
ordinary man to love. He brings dangers from all sides – without and within – while tempting her
beyond her wildest dreams…

***
Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Anne Mallory and Harper Collins will be giving away a $25 Amazon.com gift certificate to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour! Go check the other stops and the more you comment, the better your chances of winning!

Goddess Fish PartnerNext TOUR STOPS:

September 26: Reading Romances
September 26: REVIEW ONLY: Reviews by Molly
September 27: Black Velvet Seductions
September 28: Book Junkie
September 29: Among the Muses
September 30: Romancing the BookReading Romances Newsletter

Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about giveaways and other events!

18 thoughts on “In Total Surrender by Anne Mallory + Interview + Giveaway

  1. Love the sound of this book, the secrecy you mentioned in your review at the end sounds intriguing, Love the cover, yum, even if it only a-bit of Andreas body, looks tempting none the less, lol, can’t wait to read it x x x

    Like

  2. I like my heroes a little rough around the edges too. I’m especially loving Fun Fact #3.
    “When the heroine keeps popping up with a sunny smile, he thinks she must be either mad, brilliant, or some strange combination of the two…”

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

  3. I’m a big fan of Anne’s work and really looking forward to reading her latest. I love the fact that it is the hero’s POV. With a hero so dark and a heroine so sunny, isn’t it true that opposites attract? Should be fun to read.

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

    Like

  4. I usually like my books written from a combination of both the hero & heroines POV but i love reading the hero’s POV when he’s fighting his feelings for the heroine!

    One kiss leads to another sounds most intriguing……! I have to check out this book 🙂

    Like

  5. Looking forward to reading this story, interesting that is is from the hero’s point of view. Sounds like an intriguing story.

    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    Like

  6. I loved One Night…. so I am really looking forward to this one. Andreas is definitely someone I would love to learn more about. Btw, I loved the working title (One Kiss Leads to Another). Hopefully you will be able to use it sometime in the future.
    June M.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    Like

  7. Oh, goodness. My blurb would be something like…. “Girl meets world, world meets bottomless pit because she does not deal with said world.” LOL! Or something along the lines 😉 Fun interview!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

    Like

  8. Hi Anne,

    GReat to “meet you”! Ditto on the crazy hair and questionable taste in shoes 😉 You might have described me there!!!

    LOL on the hundred chickens dialogue 😉

    And “In Total Surrender” sounds like a fab book! Definitely count me in for the giveaway.

    judimello AT gmail DOT com

    Like

  9. Anne,
    One reason I love your books so much is as you put it you write “characters who are strong, smart and adaptable” or otherwise just like people I admire. I love the idea that this book is from the point of view of the hero and I can’t wait to read it. Your characters are always so fully developed that by the end of the story I feel like they are people I truly know and understand. Thanks for all the hours of wonderful stories that you’ve shared with me and all your other readers!

    Like

  10. Love having the POV from the hero, you just don’t get that much.
    Any Mallory book is a guaranteed good read for me, I have loved them all. As one of my go to authors she hasn’t disappointed yet!

    Like

  11. Congratulations Anne on your new book. One Night is Never Enough was a fantastic story and I’m looking forward to this book. My blurb would be she did an amazing amount of work in her mind.
    mce1011 AT aol DOT com

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

