I Love the Earl by Caroline Linden + Interview + GIVEAWAY


Reading Romances: When did you first start reading romance?

Caroline Linden: I remember sneaking Harlequins out of the library behind my mother’s back, but I really got started when I was expecting my first baby. I had a problem with sudden crying, so my husband said no more sad or scary books (I love mysteries and thrillers). I started reading romance, which often has just as many chills and The Duke And I (Bridgertons, #1)thrills BUT always has a happy ending. The “blinding light” book was THE DUKE AND I by Julia Quinn; “now THAT’S a story,” I thought in delight, and went on a tear through every other book I could find that looked remotely like it.

What made you choose historical romance out of all the other romance sub-genres? Wait–there was a choice? J I love historical books so much.

What’s your favorite scene or moment from I LOVE THE EARL, and why? Can you describe it for us without giving too much away?

Definitely the first meeting between Margaret and Rhys. She’s been forewarned that he’s broke and needs to marry a rich woman, and since all the men who meet her are the same, she’s already ticked off at him before he opens his mouth. So she gives him a scathing set-down as soon as he says hello. Rhys, of course, finds this unexpected behavior exhilarating instead of rude; he wasn’t impressed by the other heiresses he’s met, but this woman…whoa. He has to see her again just to see if she’s real.

What are five fun facts about I LOVE THE EARL that readers would love to know?

1. It’s a Cinderella story of sorts, except our heroine is transformed not by a fairy godmother, but by her brother’s inheritance (which I thought was better as it wouldn’t magically disappear at midnight).

2. The shoes Margaret wears are real! I found a photo online of some black and pink silk shoes with diamond buckles, and actually sighed in longing. The photo is on my website.

3. The entire novella began with one scene in the second book of the trilogy (BLAME IT ON BATH, March 2012). I needed a way for my hero to learn some gossip, so he visited his aunt. Who was funny. And had a chatterbox friend. And a romantic story of her own. It was all an accident, really…

4. I had to ask for hero name suggestions on my Facebook page. Runners-up included Liam and Garrett before Rhys just sort of appeared on the screen (and stuck).

5. Writing this novella actually made me feel sorry for what I was about to do to poor Francis, Margaret’s brother. He’s a pivotal figure in all the books, and yet not always in a good way.

If someone were writing a story about  Caroline Linden, what would your blurb say? 

One girl’s quest to combine her love of reading, puzzles, and Rhett Butler into a happy career.

Tell us a lesson you learned after having 9 books published.

Don’t let any one thing get to you too much—either good or bad! The motto of publishing should be “but wait…there’s more.” Sometimes the more is good, sometimes it’s terrible, but there’s always another wrinkle to uncover.

What can you tell us about your next release “One night in london- the truth about the duke”?

I’m very excited about it; I love doing family series, and this is about three brothers who discover when their father, the duke, dies that they might actually be illegitimate and lose everything they were raised to expect. It really upends each brother and forces him to look at his life in a new light.

ONE NIGHT IN One Night in London: The Truth About the DukeLONDON is about the middle brother, Edward, the dutiful responsible one who’s done everything right. He runs into trouble when he (sensibly) hires the best attorney in London to defend his claim to his inheritance. The trouble takes the form of a vibrant, determined woman who wanted to hire that same attorney to find her missing niece. Francesca Gordon reacts to Edward’s ‘theft’ of her attorney by demanding he help her himself…and somehow Edward ends up agreeing, even though he tells himself she is not his kind of woman and it’s just business between them and he will NOT act on his unwarranted and utterly unquenchable attraction to her, not even if she is also obviously attracted to him, because he is a man of reason and control. Until he can’t control his desire for her anymore.

Last Question, how would you define “romance”?

Discovery—not only of another person, but of yourself. What you value, what you admire, what turns you on. What you would do for that other person, and what they do for you (that you might have even realized you crave). The best romances, in my opinion, are ones in which both people are continually discovering new ways to appreciate each other.

Thank you so much for having me on the blog today!


I Love the Earl

August 2nd 2011 by HarperCollins

Margaret de Lacey has accepted her unmarried state with dignity, if not delight. She had no suitors when she was young and starry-eyed, though regrettably poor, and it’s unlikely any man will court her now that she’s older, wiser, and still just as penniless. Until, that is, her brother unexpectedly inherits the dukedom of Durham and settles an enormous dowry on her, making her the most eligible heiress in town.

No gentleman in London is more in need of a wealthy bride than Rhys Corwen, Earl of Dowling. He contrives an introduction to Margaret because of her dowry, but she swiftly sets him right: no fortune hunter will win her heart or her hand. Far from put off, Rhys is intrigued. Interested. Entranced. And soon the only thing he needs more than Margaret’s fortune…is her love.


Goddess Fish PartnerPrevious/Next TOUR STOPS:

Caroline and Harper Collins will be giving away a $25 Amazon.com gift certificate to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour! Go check the other stops and the more you comment, the better your chances of winning!

Reading Romances Newsletter
Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about our giveaways and other events!


This giveaway is now closed! Thank you!

21 thoughts on “I Love the Earl by Caroline Linden + Interview + GIVEAWAY

  1. Hi Caroline
    I think I like this new definition or romance = discovery even more than the one you gave on another post… or maybe I’m just a romantic myself.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I adore the shoes. A Gentleman in need of a wealthy wife: I love all that promises to deliver.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

  3. Great post! I love the shoes- they are really cute! I have “I Love The Earl” on my Kindle and can’t wait till this weekend when I’ll have time to read it:_

    junegirl63(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed reading the 5 things I should know about the book! I love the name, Rhys, and I adore the shoes! It’s nice to be able to see a picture so I will be able to picture the shoes perfectly when I read the book. Thanks for an excellent giveaway – I am really excited about reading this book:)
    jwitt33 at live dot com

    Like

  5. Enjoyed this post. Those shoes are too cute! I liked the five things you said about the book, likening it to a Cinderella story. Like reading those kind of stories.

    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    Like

  6. Thanks for having me on the blog today! Glad people enjoyed the 5 Things; that was my favorite interview question… Aren’t those shoes to die for??? I tried desperately to convince my editor they should be on the cover, but she already had a different plan.

    I hope everyone enjoys the novella!

    Like

  7. Enjoyed your post so much! I love the setup of the novella. Esp that the heroine is the aunt of a later hero. I love it when we get to see characters from previous books.

    Like

  8. Hi Caroline,

    Thank you for a very insightful interview , and, for giving us some great excerpts from two of your books. I have read the first chapter of “One Night in London” on Avon’s Facebook page and, can’t wait to read the whole story.

    Oh my, those shoes are just adorable. They’re something that I would have worn.

    I do love the cover art of “I Love The Earl” . I also must comment on your book “One Night in London”. The cover art is awesome, plus I like the K.I.S.S. and Teal ribbon bringing awareness to Ovarian Cancer.

    Thank you for this opportunity.

    dpd333 AT aol dot com

    Like

  9. I remember when I first discovered romances or perhaps re-discovered it was when I read a fiction book by an author. I then when on to read her backlist which included romances and was hooked.

    Like

  10. Caroline –
    After reading this blog I learned so much more about you. I love your books and can’t wait to find out more about Margaret and Rhys in their story I Love the Earl . I always enjoy when Francis shows up! Hopefully in one of your future books he will have his own story and change how we all view him.

    My favorite book was A View to Kiss and I think I’ve re-read it a dozen times. My husband laughed when a few years ago I made our bookcases not only alphabetical but seperated all him books for mine so I didn’t have to search for your books to re-read!

    Thanks for the hours of wonderful stories you’ve shared with all your readers!

    Like

  11. Hi Caroline,

    Congratulations on the start of a new and exciting series. Sounds fantastic and I can’t wait to read more, more, more! LOL I did a pre-order at Amazon for my copy of ‘I Love the Earl’ and it dropped into my PC Kindle on Tuesday. Haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but I will this weekend. Will there be 3 or 4 books in this series?

    Like

  12. I love the rags to riches type stories, this sounds like an enjoyable book, thanks for sharing your talant.
    Paula O (kyflo130@yahoo.com)

    Like

  13. hi caroline

    I like your quote “The best romances, in my opinion, are ones in which both people are continually discovering new ways to appreciate each other.”

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

