Stephanie Laurens’s Guest Post + big GIVEAWAY!


                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue

(Cynster #16)

by Stephanie Laurens

August 1st 2011 by HarperCollins

GRETNA GREEN by Stephanie Laurens

Everyone knows that couples in Regency England eloped to Gretna Green to marry – but why Gretna Green?

Because in 1753, a law was passed in England stipulating that if a bride or groom was less than 21 years old, they needed parental approval to marry, but in Scotland the law remained as it had been, so there a boy of 14 and a girl of 12 could marry without parental consent. Consequently, any youthful English bride or groom who wished to marry without parental consent fled to Scotland – and the village of Gretna Green is the first village over the border, approximately 6 miles farther on from the border north of Carlisle. Other Scottish border villages, such as Coldstream Bridge, Lamberton, and Paxton Toll, were used by eloping couples, but Gretna Green was the most favored elopement destination.

Where in Gretna Green were the ceremonies most often conducted?

Because Scottish law allowed “irregular marriages” in which a declaration made before two witnesses constituted a legal wedding, almost anyone could conduct a wedding ceremony. In Gretna Green, as in the other border towns, surrounded as they were by farms with most local people working in the fields, the one certain place to find two people at any time of day were the blacksmiths’ shops. In those times, most villages boasted at least one. In Gretna Green there were two – Gretna Hall Blacksmith’s Shop (founded 1710) and the Old Blacksmith’s Shop (built around 1712). Consequently, wedding ceremonies were often conducted over the blacksmith’s anvil, and the blacksmith and the anvil became the symbols of such runaway weddings. Indeed, the blacksmiths in Gretna were referred to as “anvil priests.” In addition to the blacksmiths’ shops, certain inns, and even some private cottages, became frequent wedding venues, but it’s the blacksmith and his anvil that remain most closely associated with eloping couples marrying at Gretna Green.

 

You are cordially invited to the wedding of Miss Heather Cynster

…but not before she encounters kidnappers, danger, and a daring rescue at the hands of Viscount Breckenridge.

Determined to hunt down her very own hero, one who will sweep her off her feet and into wedded bliss, and despairing of finding him in London’s staid ballrooms, Heather Cynster steps out of her safe world and boldly attends a racy soiree.

But her promising hunt is ruined by the supremely interfering Viscount Breckenridge, who whisks her out of scandal-and straight into danger when a mysterious enemy seizes her, bundles her into a coach, and conveys her out of London.

Now it’s up to the notorious Breckenridge to prove himself the hero she’s been searching for all along…

***

A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book and others (up to $25,000) will be donated to the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance.

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Goddess Fish PartnerPrevious/Next TOUR STOPS:

August 1: REVIEW Brazen Bookworm
August 2: REVIEW Book Junkie
August 3: GUEST BLOG Reading Romances
August 4: REVIEW What Book Is That
August 5: INTERVIEW Tracy’s Treasure of Books
August 9: INTERVIEW Book Junkie
August 10: REVIEW Songs and Stories
August 11: REVIEW Books Like Breathing
August 12: REVIEW A Chick Who Reads
August 15: INTERVIEW Books Like Breathing
August 16: INTERVIEW Laurie’s Thoughts and Reviews
August 17: REVIEW Words of Wisdom from the Scarf Princess
August 18: REVIEW Romancing the Book
August 19: INTERVIEW Lisa Haselton’s News and Reviews
August 22: REVIEW Just One More Paragraph
August 23: REVIEW Oodles of Books
August 24: REVIEW Among the Muses
→August 25: REVIEW Reading Romances
August 26: REVIEW Tracy’s Treasure of Books
August 29: REVIEW Reviews by Molly
August 30: REVIEW News and Reviews from the Heart of the Dragon’s Den

Edited:

Stephanie and Avon / HarperCollins will be giving away a $100 Amazon.com gift certificate to one randomly drawn commenter during the course of the tour AND all commenters will have the chance to win one of four autographed sets of Stephanie Lauren’s backlist from Avon.


Go check the other stops and come back here during august 25, when I’ll  post the review! And the more you comment, the better your chances of winning!

Reading Romances Newsletter
Subscribe to the Reading Romances Newsletter and receive the latest information about our giveaways and other events!

57 thoughts on “Stephanie Laurens’s Guest Post + big GIVEAWAY!

  1. I had a general knowledge before of Gretna Green, but now I understand more fully thank you. History is fascinating. “Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue” looks wonderful.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

  2. I love the stories with couples who elope to Gretna Green, almost as much as I love all the Cynster books.

    Thank you for this opportunity.

    Madeline

    m(dot)ceschini(at)msn(dot)com

    Like

  3. Fascinating history about Gretna Green, learned something new today. This book looks like a wonderful story.

    Jean
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    Like

  4. I already had some knowledge about why couples went to Gretna Green to elope but I really appreciate more insight on it. One of my favourite stories where a couple eloped there was “The Devil in Winter” by Lisa Kleypas. I like reading about the journey there, which appeared long and grueling but also the description of the Scottish border town.
    Cambonified(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

    1. Wow, Gretna sounds like some states here in America – well not so much about the age but when a person gets a divorce they have to wait 6 months before they get married,however, if you go to Arkansas or Vegas Navada you can get married and dont have to wait – so like Gretna is is a haven for married couples. My grandparents got married when they were 13 yrs old and they stayed together until they died at the age of 88. They knew true love at the early age of 13 – they also had 10 kids – LOL

      Your book sounds real good, would love to win.

      mrsqueentutt@yahoo.com

      Like

  5. I love Stephanie’s storytelling and am already a huge fan of the Cynster series. I’ve really been looking forward to this new series.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

    Like

  6. I did not know the story about England and Scotland and why youngters wanting to marry went to Scotland, interesting thought… I had some books given to me and Stephanie Laurens books were in it and I found a new author that I liked to read. I had read Regency type books but not hers. Glad I found her and winning some books and gift cert. would be great -thanks for sharing…

    Like

  7. I knew Gretna Green was very popular for quicky marriages but didn’t know about all of the reasons behind it – thanks for the quicky history lesson.

    junegirl63(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  8. Thanks for that description, I understood the concept, but always like backgound details. Perhaps somewhere in your blog tour you’ll do the same for Bans & Special Licences. I’ve always wondered if it was just the aristocracy that did special licenses and if so, was that becuase of connections (like to bishops etc) or a cost involved.
    I like this tour!

    sallans d at yahoo dot com

    Like

  9. I love Stephanie’s stories and have never missed a Cynster book!

    Thanks for filling in the gaps for me about Gretna Green and knew I lot of the facts but I love finding out the history about places I’ve read about in the books I love. When my husband and I took a trip to England and Scotland he was amazed at the history I had learned from reading historical romance and you’ve just added another piece of knowledge that I wasn’t aware of!

    Like

  10. An interesting post. Love the stories where the couples are rushing to the border to get married in Gretna Green. Thanks for the additional info about the other towns as well. Wonderful to give back for Cancer. Wishing you MANY sales. Just to add that I love Stephanie’s books. 🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Like

  11. I did know why bach then couples went to Greta Green but I did Not know that almost anyone could do the wedding, Wow that sure did make it easy. Great info. thank you.
    I love your books and can’t wait to read thos one.

    Like

  12. Thanks so much for the fascinating and informative post on Gretna Green. I didn’t know the whole story on it though have seen it crop regularly in historical romances.

    pams00 @ aol.com

    Like

  13. i am so very intrigued by that period!i wish i could time travel and see how everything used to be and come back so that my curiosity would be satisfied!
    thanks for the post:)

    Janhvi Jagtap
    justjanhvi at gmail dot com

    Like

  14. SL is one of my favorites and I’ve got this title on my calendar! I was able to read the first six fairly close together and am so pleased the series is continuing on, and on 😉

    loved the info about Greta Green. I knew the basics but had no idea about the blacksmith shop

    Like

  15. I have read of Gretna Green in many novels. How intriguing. I think I will also purchase the book since the proceeds go to a great cause. Please enter me in the giveaway. Donna

    mylife.onestoryatatime at yahoo.com

    Like

  16. I heard a lot about Gretna Green but didn’t know why that was elopment central. I’m tempted to, when ever I should get married, to have an anvil ceremony. It would dress up a justice of peace ceremony!

    The book sounds very interesting and fun.
    melorabrock {at} gmail {dot} com

    Like

  17. I can not wait to read this book. I love books where the couple are going to Gretna Green to marry. I have read alot of different books where it showed that anyone could marry by declaring thier intent before 2 witnesses (handfasting) and the blacksmith weddings (anvil priests). I love reading the various situations that send the hero & heroines to elope, and often the funny things that happen along the way.

    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    Like

  18. Great post, definitely interesting info on Gretna Green, especially since it’s mentione din so many historicals.

    lilazncutie1215[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Like

  19. Wow, who would have thought about the history of Gretna Green being so interesting. It is certainly making me want to read books about the adventures of people who are eloping! I haven’t read historical books since high school but Stephanie Lauren’s books have got me interested again.

    Like

  20. I have been so looking forward to the release of the Cynster girls books. Long time coming. They really sound good.

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

    Like

  21. I love historical romances, and especially Stephanie Lauren’s books. I can’t wait to read this one!
    castings at mindspring dot com

    Like

  22. I love historical romances and none does them better than Stephanie Laurens, so I’m looking forward to tthis one.

    Thanks

    Sarah

    sarahDOTsetarATgmailDOTcom

    Like

Leave me your thoughts too!

