Interview with Em Petrova – Part 2

“I love to hear their reactions about my work, whether good or bad.

Today Em will tell us if her family and friends know about her books, what she has learned about herself after started writing and being published! You can read the first part of this interview here.

Do your nearest and dearest know what you do, and if so, what was their reaction when they found out?

This is a hazy topic. Of course my husband is very, very proud of my success, and supports me in every way. A few of my family members know about my sexy alter-ego, including my father and siblings. My mom might disown me, and I have to stay on the down-low for the sake of my school-age children. When they found out I was writing erotic romance, they were proud of me. All writing takes work and discipline, whether it’s poetry or smut.

Please tell us your most rewarding experience since being published.

Oh my, there are sooo many. Nothing beats the first acceptance letter.

That moment will be frozen forever in my mind.

Each time a contract rolls in (I have 18 total right now, with several submissions out there), it’s just as exciting as the first time. First cover art–wow! That was amazing. I cried when I opened an email with my first cover. However,

those things pale in comparison to the passion I experience when talking to my readers.

I love to hear their reactions about my work, whether good or bad. I receive emails and private messages on Facebook all the time from readers who are willing to share. And of course I love to read a review where the reviewer “got” my work.

I’m one of those readers! Lol…I bet the book covers are a very strong element to you, since you have a degree in Art! Are you part of the creating process?

 Thank you for being one of those readers! Like all authors, I fill out cover art request forms. Honestly, most of the time I can perfectly envision the cover, right down to the font! Of course there are times when I can’t really “see” a book’s cover, but the artists still manage to pull from my descriptions of setting and characters to give me a stellar finished artwork. The cover gods have been good to me!

What’s the most surprising thing you learned in creating your books?

I’m not a plotter. In the writing world, there are plotters, and there are pantsters. Plotters know exactly where every scene is headed. Pantsters fly by the seat of their pants, and write organically. I’ve tried to plot, but honestly it bores me.

I’d much rather get a good handle on my characters, arrive at a goal for the book, and let the characters start talking to me.

What’s the craziest writing idea you’ve had?

 Oh jeez, that is a hard one. I think a lot of my ideas are crazy. I love a mash-up of genres. I guess I’d have to say my erotic medieval with steampunk elements ISOLDE’S WISH, from Loose Id.

It’s The Princess Bride meets A League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

A lot of reviewers don’t “get it.” They think it should be steampunk or medieval, but not both. Actually, the story unfolded to me. I didn’t guide it. I don’t live in black and white, but in shades of gray!

Sounds amazing! Okay, here’s my last 3 questions:

oh no…

3)Is there a question you’d have the perfect answer for, or one you’d like to ask your readers?

Readers. Boxers, briefs, or commando?

LOL!  2)For you, what makes a romance novel a great love story?

Tension and longing.

1)Can you tell us about some of your upcoming releases, or new projects that we can look forward to? How can readers follow your work online?

Runestone-Book Three of my Immortal Series with Red Sage releases July 1st. I’m really excited about this story, which continues the tale of two immortals and the mortal man they love. I also have a menage coming soon from Breathless Press called Silk, and Quatre-Book Three of the French Kiss Chronicles will follow shortly after from Breathless Press. Finally, I have a witches book called The Tempest and my new Ellora’s Cave title Skin Truth. I’m writing a brand new menage with some hot loggers in flannel and hard-hats (yum!). You can find me at http://www.empetrova.com

Thank you very much for this interview, Em! I look foward to reading your next books!

Thank you, Nat! I’ve loved talking to you.

You can buy Runestone here , and If you wanna know more about Em Petrova’s books go to her site and follow her on twitter!

Leave me your thoughts too!

